05 Oct 2021

Call for Development Group Members – Safety Critical Information Code of Practice

The Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board (RISSB) is seeking nominations from people to join a Development Group to develop a new Code of Practice – Safety Critical Information.

This new Code provides principles and practices for the collection and dissemination of safety critical information to rail safety workers on the Australian railway network, including all heavy and light rail operations. This Code will not cover safety critical communications (refer to the RISSB Safety Critical Communications Code of Practice).

The scope includes the following aspects of safety critical information (SCI):
• Collection and collation
• Definition of SCI, assessment and classification (based on criticality)
• Dissemination
• Confirmation of receipt and understanding
• Standardisation of format and style
• Standardisation of data presentation.

How to contribute
Stakeholders and interested parties are invited to submit nominations for subject matter experts to join this Development Group to contribute to the overall depth and quality of the publication.

Development Group membership is voluntary and requires the support of your organisation to attend and contribute. There will be meetings held every 4-6 weeks between November 2021 and June 2022. These will be planned as teleconferences, however this may change depending on lifting of travel restrictions.

Further information on the responsibilities of a Development Group member can be obtained from the RISSB website.

All nominations and enquiries are to be submitted to cfitzhardinge@rissb.com.au

As part of your nomination, can you please provide a brief detailing your contact details, your interest in this development (materially affected party, subject matter expert, etc.), and any other information which might support your participation.

Your information will assist us in ensuring a balanced representation from all major interest categories in the development of this product.

The closing date for nominations is Tuesday, 19 October 2021.