15 Jul 2021

Call for Development Group Members – Safeworking for Light Rail Systems Code of Practice

The expanding light rail systems within Australia have largely developed their network rules based on the applicable state heavy rail system rules, many of which are not appropriate for light rail. Further, the various light rail network rules are not harmonised and do not take into account the ANRP or AHNR projects.

The Rail Industry Safety and Standards Board (RISSB) is seeking nominations from people to join a Development Group to create a new national Code of Practice for the development and implementation of network rules and procedures for light rail systems.

The scope includes:

  • Operations on a light rail system
  • Trackwork, with a focus on trackwork within road corridors
  • Management of failure situations.

This Code will support the current project Code of Practice – Development and maintenance of network rules.

How to contribute

Stakeholders and interested parties are invited to submit nominations for subject matter experts to join this Development Group to contribute to the overall depth and quality of the product.

Development Group membership is voluntary and requires the support of your organisation to attend and contribute. There will be meetings held every 4-6 weeks between August 2021 and May 2022. These will be planned as teleconferences, however this may change depending on lifting of travel restrictions.

Further information on the responsibilities of a Development Group member can be obtained from the RISSB website.

All nominations and enquiries are to be submitted to cfitzhardinge@rissb.com.au

As part of your nomination, can you please provide a brief detailing your contact details, your interest in this development (materially affected party, subject matter expert, etc.), and any other information which might support your participation.

Your information will assist us in ensuring a balanced representation from all major interest categories in the development of this product.

The closing date for nominations is Thursday, 29 July 2021.