2023 RISSB’s Rail Safety Awards

Established in 2022, our awards program is designed to recognise and celebrate individual and company safety achievements in the rail industry and promote diversity, excellence and innovation.

All businesses irrespective of size or stature, can enter across five award categories.


Safety Leadership Program

This award celebrates programs within organisations that promote the overall safety (rail and WHS) capability of the wider organisational team to improve physical and/or psychological safety outcomes.

Frontline Worker Safety Initiative

This award recognises a frontline rail worker (or team) who, in the past 12 months, championed a rail safety initiative or workplace improvement with exemplary safety outcomes for their co-workers.

Community Safety

The community safety award acknowledges initiatives that deliver an improvement in community rail safety outcomes (e.g. level crossings, trespass or other community safety engagement initiatives).

Emerging Leader

This award is for excellence and innovation and will be granted to a new (less than 5 years) rail worker in the rail industry to recognise and encourage their contribution to the improvement of safety.

Industry Safety Professional of the Year

This award acknowledges the overall achievements of a safety professional in improving the health, safety and wellbeing outcomes within a team or organisation.

For more information about the program, please read this flyer.


The RISSB Rail Safety Awards are open to any individual working in the rail industry and organisation operating in or affiliated with rail in Australia and New Zealand. Nominations can be made by the nominee themselves or by another person/party.


Complete the nomination form and send it to events@rissb.com.au by Friday, 24 March 2023.


Nominations open – Wednesday, 15 February 2023

Nominations close – Completed nomination forms will be accepted up to COB Friday, 24 March 2023

Winners announced – Tuesday, 2 May 2023 at the Rail Safety Conference dinner