16 Sep 2016

Selection of New Chairperson for RISSB

Tony Drake has been Chair of RISSB for almost seven years and will step down after the RISSB AGM in November.

The Board arranged a selection process to choose a new Chair to take on this important role after Tony’s retirement.

On Thursday 15th September a selection panel comprising all of the Directors, except the two Independent Directors who were shortlisted candidates, met to finalise the selection process.

We had two very strong and credible candidates, David George and Deborah Spring. Directors were of the view that either would make a very strong Chair for RISSB.

We are pleased to announce that we have selected Deborah Spring to be the Directors’ nomination for next Chair for RISSB and we congratulate her on her success in this selection.

This appointment will be subject to endorsement by RISSB Members at the November RISSB AGM.

There is a brief Bio for Deb Spring below.


RISSB Board.

16th September 2016


Deborah Spring has broad experience gained as a senior executive across a diverse range of industries in both domestic and international markets. These include energy, manufacturing, recycling, petro-chemicals, rail, technology, transport and logistics. Debbie’s expertise is in implementing major business transformation programs in large, complex, capital intensive, highly regulated and unionised industries.

She has extensive Board experience in health services, environment, education, community services and logistics including memberships of sub-committees responsible for finance, audit and risk, HR, innovation, operations and safety, security, health and the environment.

Debbie’s Board positions have included Ambulance Victoria, Federation University of Australia, Mount Hotham Resort Management Board and V/Line Corporation.

Debbie has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Union College, a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and a Master in Business Administration from Harvard Business School. She is a licensed professional engineer and a GAICD.